Neighbours

 

 

Neighbours, Everybody needs good neighbours
With a little understanding
You can find the perfect blend
Neighbours…should be there for one another
That’s when good neighbours become good friends
Ooh Neighbours, should be there for one another
That’s when good neighbours become good friends.

 

What has happened to neighborly activity. Does anyone really know their neighbours anymore? Yes I bring the bins in for the elderly couple next door however I can never remember their names and we have lived here nearly 3 years.

The reason for this post well, For the 3 years we have lived here in doing the school run there was a severely disabled boy no older than 10 who lived about 7 doors down, for the past 2 weeks or so my husband and I came to realise that we no longer saw this boy being put into his school bus of a morning, and 2 days ago the specially adapted car appears to have gone! I do not want to think the worse however both the hubster and I can’t help but feel that this little boy has died.  We haven’t seen any funeral cars though, but then would we have if it happened in the day time. If he has I feel awful that in 3 years I never said hello, just smiled as we walked to school.

What has happened to knowing all about your neighbours and being part of a community. Why has this part of life died off? Has it died off or is it harder living on an avenue.

When I was younger my neighbour, was my auntie! You know that type of auntie we all have! If mum had to pop out either set of neighbours would listen out, not sit just listen!

I just think it is such a shame that we no longer really know the people we share bricks and mortar with anymore. Bring back neighbour watch. Let’s all throw a street party for this Royal Wedding and get to know our neighbours again!

3 responses to “Neighbours

  1. we know all 5 of our neighbours because we all moved in the same day sort of all look out for each other although next is the same age group as me and peter and they do have wide partys lol getting old i am as it drives me mad but summer is here and bbqs sound like a very good idea . think everyone know everyone round here but you live in a better area than we do and same with my mum rougher areas know each other

  2. I think a lot of it depends on where you live. I grew up in a village where everyone knew each other and their business. Father Badger and I lived in a lovely market town when we were married but commuted outside and after three years we knew our neighbours to say good morning to but couldn’t remember their names. I found that very alien after my childhood.

    We now live in a rural village and it’s back to how I grew up. We don’t know everyone, but every says hello, you know your neighbours are watching out for you. Much nicer.

  3. I grew up in an area where you knew every one of your neighbours and we all looked out for each others kids. The back door was ‘never’ locked (unless we were on holiday)because the huge dog we had was deterant enough!
    Sleepovers were the norm’ and as kids, we ‘always’ played outdoors; in the street, in the fields, on the local building site, wherever!

    My experience of my first ‘owned’ home was not quite the same. I knew my next door neighbours (or so I thought!) She’d left her partner for at least 3 months before the guy installing new windows made in clear to me that ‘no woman lives here’. She did go quietly though! I got to know one of my neighbours when on getting out of the car one day, the lady across the road (who had MS) started to fall and her husband could not hold her – I ran across the street to catch her fall. It came as a shock to them (and to me) when my husband left me the following week and we had already sold our house (yes, leaving me and H’Boo, only 2 then, homeless!).

    So I guess it’s not just your neighbours that you need to get to know better these days!

    I’m a happy bunnie now in the HonieHouse with HonieDaddy, H’Boo, O’Pops & K’Boo – come on over and have a cup of tea at the HonieMummy webpage. Visitors always welcome, comments appreciated and if you have something you want me to talk about (and I like it), then I’ll share.

Leave a Reply

